Notable Resources
Some recent arrivals and notable resources for work in the visual arts:

Bibliography of the History of Art
Background Information
These are great resources for finding background information on an artist, topic, or historical period.
Online Resources:
- Grove Art Online (Oxford)
Also includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Entries for artists, media, countries, and more.
Extensive bibliographies are usually included.
- Contemporary Artists Index
A master index to contemporary group exhibition catalogs.
- The Union List of Artists Names Online, Getty Research Institute
The ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing more than 225,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.
Print resources:
- Contemporary Artists Reference N6490 .C6567 2002
- Artist biographies (search PacifiCat for the LAST name of the artist, and add “and biograph?” to the search.)
Key General Overviews
Online Resources:
- Artcyclopedia
- Art History Resources on the Web A site that links to information by historical period and by geographic area. A project of Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe of Sweet Briar College.
- Mother of all Art History Links page
A Web gateway to art history departments, research resources, online visual collections, art museums, online exhibits, and more. From the University of Michigan.
- Timeline of Art History
The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Print Resources:
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Reference – N33 .O923 2001 - An Introduction to music and art in the Western world
NX447 .I58 1991 - Gardner’s Art Through the Ages
N5300 .G25 1996
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Resources:
- Oxford Dictionary of Art (via Oxford Reference Online)
Also available in print: Reference – N22 .O93 2001 - The Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in Art
Print Resources:
- Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Reference – N25 .E53 1983 - The Encyclopedia of Visual Art
Reference – N25 .E53 1983 - Praeger Encyclopedia of Art
Reference -- N33 .P89
Quick Library Tutorials
Module 1: Choosing a Topic : How to choose a research topic.
Module 2: Analyzing Your Topic : What kind of information will you need to find?
Module 3: Building a Search Strategy : Turn your topic into a successful search.
Module 4: Getting Started : Searching for books in the Library.
Module 5: Finding Articles : Searching for articles in the library's online databases
Module 6: From Citation to Article : Get the full text of useful articles.
Module 7: Back to the Web : Tips on evaluating web sites.
Module 8: Academic Honesty and Avoiding Plagiarism : When to cite your sources.
Librarian
When we're offline, see this page for other ways to get assistance. Or, see below to contact Robin via IM or email. In an offline message, please include your name and Pacific e-mail. Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
