ARTstorCSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)EBSCOhostElsevierIEEEJSTORLexis/NexisProject MuseProQuestThomson Reuters (Web of Science)Oxford University PressWiley Online LibraryWilson WebCQ PressCredoGalePubMedSage Journals OnlineSciFinder CASSpringerIEEEACM Digital LibraryebraryMathSciNetSTAT!RefASCE Civil EngineeringASME
This is the "Citation Management at Pacific" page of the "RefWorks Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks Guide   Tags: bibliography, citation, references, works_cited  

This guide provides information and instructions on using RefWorks at Pacific.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.pacific.edu/refworks Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation Management at Pacific Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Write-n-Cite for Mac FIX

There is a known issue with Write-n-Cite for Macs. Please uninstall the previous version and install this one:

macwncInstallV251.dmg

 

What is a Citation?

What is a citation? A citation....

  • describes a book, journal article, website, or other published item
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to retrieve the item you refer to
  • includes the author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date

A citation manager is a tool which helps you to store, organize and output your citations in the format you prefer.

 

Options for Citation Managers

Here is a summary - see also the full comparison chart below.


Refworks
Easy-to-use web-based product available to all Pacific users (www.refworks.com). RefWorks allows you to import references from PacifiCat and many of Pacific's subscription databases. You can conveniently compile a list of sources you intend to read--as you identify them--and save the list online.

EndNote Web
Available to all Pacific users.

Mendeley: A reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

Zotero
Easy-to-use open source tool (http://www.zotero.org/) that is accessible via the web—works right in your Firefox browser. Using Zotero, it is easy to capture and save citations found on webpages, and to add notes and other information to saved citations for efficient organization. Lacks the storage capabilities of Refworks and EndNote Web.

 

Comparison Chart

EndNote Web  Zotero RefWorks
Cost Free to Pacific users Free Free to Pacific users
Web based access/storage Yes Yes
Yes
Import references from online databases Yes Yes Yes
Store references online and share with others Yes Not yet, coming soon Yes
MS Word integration Yes Yes Yes
Create custom bibliographic styles No No, but can import EndNote styles Yes
Uses PacificLink to link to full text Yes Yes Yes
Requires online connection Yes No Yes
Other Requires Firefox browser Mobile version available at www.refworks.com/mobile
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip