Skip to main content
Banner Image

Music: MMGT111: Music Industry Analysis

Guide to resources for music research and study.

MMGT111: Music Industry Analysis

Here are some resources that can get you started on your research.

You can use the resources listed in the Articles & Databases tab above, but here are some of the resources that might the most useful for your research:

Professional organizations often maintain informative websites on their professional views related to music copyright law.  Explore the selected organizations on this below to see what information and links they recommend!

Citing:

For this course, Prof. Hatschek wants you to use the Chicago Style Manual of Style, which we have online and in print:

Writing:

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University has an excellent website containing writing resources and instructional material. The following links will be especially useful for your MMGT111 project:

Directions:

Using the research topic given, assess the three sources based on the CRAAP method (currency, relevancy, authority, accuracy, and purpose).

  1. What type of source is this? What information is being presented?
  2. Is this a resource from the Library or is it freely available?
  3. If this was your research topic, how would you use this source?

Be prepared to share your thoughts with the rest of the class.


Assignment #1:

Research Topic: The marketing of hip hop: Run-DMC and adidas
 
Assignment #2:
Research Topic: Jimi Hendrix and his studio recordings
Source 1: book
Source 2: book
 
Assignment #3:
Research Topic: The uncertain future of the American orchestra
 
Assignment #4:
Research Topic: Evoking an era vs. plagiarizing a melody
 
Assignment #5:
Research Topic: How race and sexuality are portrayed in music videos

Visit the Library's Special Collections Department to view rare and unique materials. 

Hours

Monday-Friday: 10am-5pm

Saturday/Sunday: Closed

The Holt-Atherton Special Collections houses Pacific's collections of rare books, manuscripts, archives, photographs, and other rare and special materials. Including the Brubeck Collection

Citing from Holt-Atherton Special Collections

Information needed for Citation (if available):

Manuscript Collections:

[Identification of Item], name of collection, Mss number, box number, Holt-Atherton Department of Special Collections, University of the Pacific Library.

Loading

Music Librarian

Veronica Wells
Chat with a Librarian:
When we're offline, go here for information on how and when to get assistance. Or, email Veronica.
Contact:
3601 Pacific Ave.
Stockton, CA 95204