Last Updated: Feb 22, 2013
-Don't expect one database or resource to answer all your questions--you will probaby need to consult a variety of resources for each company!
-Check out the company's website, but be aware that the company is publishing the info.
Public Companies - It's much easier to find info on public companies because:
- They sell shares to the general public
- They are regulated by the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC)
- They must report info like financials, subsidiaries, executive compensation
Private Companies - It can be more difficult to research private companies because:
- They are privately owned
- They are not required to disclose financial info or file with the SEC
- Google Finance
Gives you real-time stock quotes & charts and financial news. Very easy to use and search.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Provides timely information about current events, law, and business research. Business information includes SEC filings, company reports, accounting reports, and country profiles.
- Business Source Complete
a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text articles.
- Google News
Aggregates headlines to search many of the world's news sources.
- Newspaper Source
Contains over 170 regional U.S. newspapers (including The Stockton Record) and 20 international newspapers. It also includes newswires, newspaper columns, TV and radio news transcripts.
- Proquest Newsstand
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources such as The New York Times and the Times of London.
A social networking website for people in professional occupations. Also contains information on companies.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable you to understand the performance of the Nation's economy.
- EDGAR - SEC Filings and Forms
A database containing company SEC filings & forms (including Form 10k).
The National Association of Music Merchants is a non-profit association that unifies, leads and strengthens the global music products industry.