This is the "Home" page of the "MMGT 111: Music Industry Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MMGT 111: Music Industry Analysis  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.pacific.edu/mmgt111 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Narrowing Your Research Topic

Try to find a topic that is neither too broad nor too narrow. For example, if you're interested in writing about Motown, try to think of all the issues and ideas surrounding motown-- such as race, gender, civil rights, entrepreneurship, recording practices, etc. Then, focus your topic down to a question or statement: "Who were the audiences of Motown, and how did this change from the 1960s to the 70s?" For more help, see this Research Topic video.

       

      About This Guide

      This research guide is specifically for students in MMGT 111: Music Industry Analysis. This research guide is not a comprehensive portal, but it is intended to be a useful place to start.

      If you need further research help, please contact me!

       

      Reference Sources

      -AllMusic.com: a helpful source for looking up information on a particular artist or album. Written by pop music reviewers, this is a good starting place to get a broad snapshot of a particular artist and her/his musical output.

      -Grove Music Online: This is a wonderful place to begin your research. Make sure to check the bibliography for further research. Contains The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

      -Credo Reference: Contains: Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Locations, Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry and Society, Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Performance and Production, The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, The Harvard Dictionary of Music, and The New Penguin Dictionary of Music.

      -Gale Virtual Library: Contains: Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians and Baker's Biographical Dictionar of Popular Musicians Since 1990.

      Librarian

      Profile Image
      Veronica A. Wells
      Contact Info
      University of the Pacific
      3601 Pacific Ave.
      Stockton, CA 95211
      209-946-2570
      Send Email
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip