Skip to main content
Banner Image

Dental: Getting Started

This guide provides resource access for the students and faculty of the Dugoni Dental School.

Best Bet Databases

Library Resources

Open Library HomepageLibrary Home
Access the Library's databases, search for articles, and view journal titles.

Dental Databases Open Dental Hygiene Database List
See a list of the most useful databases related to Dental Hygiene.

Open Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Find books, eBooks, and print journals in our library catalog.

e-Journal Search
Have a citation for an article? Find out if we have the journal in electronic format.

Off-Campus Access

Accessing databases off campus can be tricky. Use this guide to find out how to authenticate your account.

Health Sciences Librarian

If you have a question, comment or research concern for the Health Sciences Librarian, you can reach Mickel Paris via email or call (209) 946-3207. I appreciate any suggestions you may have about the usefulness or navigation of this resource. This guide is still under construction.

News @ the Library

This library guide was created for the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry student, staff, or faculty member.  

Networking Issues Update

Thank you for using the Dental Library Guide. Please select on the tabs above for more information regarding resources. For further information, news and updates, read further.

Please note that there may be network or browser issues when accessing resources.We expect this to be ongoing throughout the year as we transition individual publishers to Stockton one-by-one. This should be resolved by 2016. If you are having difficulty downloading a resource, please try the following:

  1. Try using the library guide with a different browser (i.e. Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari, etc.)
  2. Try using a laptop over wifi or your home computer if errors occur on your desktop landline computers at work
  3. If you are trying to conduct research using Remote Desktop VPN and have issues, temporarily use a regular connection from home or access using Pacific off-campus login [click here]. Do not use VPN.

Known Issues with PubMed and Google Scholar

We are currently working on resolving major issues with downloading some of the full-text articles in PubMed and Google Scholar. To gain the best experience with these resources, click the PubMed/Google Scholar buttons below as they will recognize you being from Pacific (requiring a login). If you are still having trouble, please enter the citation of the article you are looking for in the University search tool at:

Library Search

You can also search for the journal directly at:

Search journal issues

Certain databases may ask you to choose between University of the Pacific or CPMC. Always select UOP, as CPMC will no longer be providing database access as of December 31, 2015.

Quick Medical Searches

PubMed Logo

Click the Pubmed button below to begin your search! 
PubMed Logo

PubMed is a free database which contains MEDLINE. MEDLINE is produced by the US National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE contains over 21 million citations for biomedical literature. Over 5,000 journals can be accessed.

Optimize your PubMed Searches: Customize your PubMed NCBI account to view full text available through University of the Pacific's library!
 

Google Scholar is a search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. 

Optimize your Google Scholar searchesCustomize your Google Scholar account to view full text that is available through University of the Pacific's library subscriptions. Once you have completed this process, you will see the "Pacific thru LinkSource" button that will allow full-text access. Optimize first, then start your search here!

Social Media


Like the Dugoni Virtual Library Facebook Page to receive important updates on new resources, library programming, and network updates! You can also post comments, give a suggestion, or start a conversation on the discussion wall.

Ask a Librarian

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Call: (209) 946-2433 (Please see our library hours)

Email: eref@pacific.edu

24 Hour Chat: Chat with us using the box below.

Visit: Come to the Reference Desk in the Information Commons of the Stockton Campus Main Library