This is the "Home" page of the "Library Resources for Career Exploration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Library Resources for Career Exploration  

This guide will assist students who are investigating careers. Please fee free to ask the librarians for additional information.
Last update: Nov 1, 2011 URL: http://libguides.lib.pacific.edu/careers  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis
HomePrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Reference Books

These books are located in the Reference area of the library:

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance: REF HF5381 .E52 2003: Describes many careers, educational requirements, training, salary

Expert Resumes for Health Care Careers: R690 .E527 2004


Expert Resumes for Managers and Experts:  REF HF5383 .E474 2003:Examples and guidelines for effective resumes

Cover Letter Magic: REF HF5383 .E4787 2000: Ways to make your cover letter stand out! (other similar books available)

 

Library Databases

Search these databases from the library page:

Factiva: world wide newspapers and news magaazines, extensive public company information

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe: provides information about companies, including financial statements and annual reports; provides full-text of important trade journals.

Business Source Complete: articles about companies and industries

Gale Virtual Reference: a large number of online encyclopedias; many with career related information, such as the Career Information Center and Careers and Organizations.

Going Global: contains country-specific career and employment resources for more than 80 locations.

Regional Business News: limited coverage of local news sources.

 

Web Resources

The WWW has lots of good sources of information for job-seekers and career exploration! Here are just a few:

College Recruiter: guide to entry level jobs and internships

Evaluating a Job Offer: helps an individual evaluate a job offer by giving helpful advice and a list of questions any job seeker should ask

Interview Advice: tips and techniques from Monster.com

Job Descriptions:a free resource that provides you with job desciptions and job details. Our site currrently contains over 13,000 job descriptions, divided into major categories, then divisions and finally into groups.

Occupational Outlook Handbook: the online version of guide to career descriptions

The Riley Guide: free career and employment information

Job Hunters: a Resource Guide to Landing the Job: comprehensive step-by-step guide for cover letters, resumes, and interviews


Librarian

Profile Image
Lorrie Knight
Contact Info:
University of the Pacific Library
3601 Pacific Avenue
Stockton, CA 95211
209.946.2087
Send Email

Library Media Specialist (Systems)

Profile Image
Adriana Ibarra
Contact Info:
University of the Pacific Library
3601 Pacific Avenue
Stockton, CA 95211
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait